New York Marathon 2010 1

Posted: February 18, 2011 in Sprint
Tags:

So 3 months it is. 3 months is what it took me to finally write about the greatest experience in my life. (except of course for the part wherein I was being born, which quite frankly I could not remember vividly). Why? You see, I was never good with writing and I am afraid of not doing justice, hence, the delay. Why now? I think mostly because I am starting to forget how overwhelming the feeling was. So back to my point. Why the greatest? Here’s why.

First, I worked really hard for it. Day in and day out, it’s the first and last thing that comes to mind. Hmm, now that I am thinking about it, it seems like I was a bit obsessed back then. Looking back at my training schedule, I have no idea how I have trained for 3 months, 4 times a week without skipping a single day (patay na bata talaga).

Second, imagine the streets of the greatest city in the world being cleared out for you. I think, the Philippine equivalent would be closing EDSA for almost a day! How awesome is that right? Running through these streets made me feel so small not because most of the other runners are 6 feet tall or even taller but because of the magnitude of the event. I could not find the right words to describe it but there is this special feeling of being engulfed into something way bigger that you are. It does not really matter how small a part you play as long as you are part of it. (quite cheesy I know, haha, but still quite true).

Third, the people. I don’t know why quite frankly but about 2 million spectators actually crowd the streets of New York every year just to watch the New York Marathon. 42.195 kilometers filled with strangers cheering you on. How great can that be right? I think running the New York Marathon is the equivalent of joining the Olympics for normal guys like me. That’s how great it is!

Now let’s get into details.

Unlike the races here in Manila, getting to the starting line of the New York Marathon is quite complicated since the race starts on an island. There are 2 ways of how you can get there but as a participant, you have no say on this matter. Depending on the area wherein you are coming from, you may be assigned to a bus or a ferry. Luckily, I got the ferry and sailed right by Lady Liberty while being flanked on both sides by the US Navy boats. Now that I remember, it was quite unsettling seeing those ships (a scene from the dark night flashed through my mind).

The starting line was not as grand as I thought it to be. Runrio’s starting lines are much more impressive. The starting line was nothing but a blue marker on the ground but hearing Frank Sinatra’s “New York, New York” and being on the gargantuan Verrazano Bridge more that makes up for it. So let the greatest experience begin!

Comments
  1. gaile says:

    finally! a new entry! =)

  2. yna says:

    bakit di ka naglagay ng picture mo? hehehe

  3. Belle valones says:

    Jet ngayon ko Lang nakita grabe buti di bumagsak bridge sa dam ng tao hehe

Leave a Reply

